Joint Administration / Academic Senate WASC Accreditation Steering Committee

Term of appointment: October 2012 – February 2013

The committee consisted of members of Academic Senate Davis Division WASC Steering Committee, additional Academic Senate faculty, administrators, and student representation.


Ralph Hexter, Provost and Executive Chancellor

Bruno Nachtergaele, Academic Senate Divisional Chair, Professor, Mathematics


Carolyn de la Peña, Interim Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education, Professor, American Studies

André Knoesen, Academic Senate Divisional Vice Chair, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Academic Senate Representation**

Patrick Farrell, Professor, Linguistics; Chair: Admissions and Enrollment 

Benjamin Shaw, Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Chair: Courses of Instruction 

Rachael Goodhue, Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics; Chair: Graduate Council

Craig Warden, Professor, Pediatrics; Chair: General Education 

Jerold Last, Professor, Internal Medicine; Chair: Planning and Budget 

Matthew Traxler, Professor, Psychology; Chair: Undergraduate Council 

Carl Whithaus, Professor & Director, University Writing Program; Chair: Undergraduate Instruction & Program Review 

** Extended appointment (September 2012 - April 2014)

Additional Faculty*

Alan Buckpitt, Professor, School of Veterinary Medicine

Susan Ebeler, Professor, Viticulture and Enology

Joe Kiskis, Professor Emeritus, Physics, Co-chair of previous WASC review

Diana Gold Myles, Professor Emeritus, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Jeffrey Schank,* Professor, Psychology

Neil Schore, Professor, Chemistry

James Shackelford,* Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Gina Werfel, Professor, Art

*These members served during Fall 2012 only.


Lora Jo Bossio, Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Gillian Butler, Analyst, Institutional Analysis

Adela de la Torre, Interim Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Steve Drown, Campus Counsel

Karen Dunn-Haley, Director, Academic Assessment

Karl Engelbach, Associate Chancellor, UC Davis

Gary Ford, Associate Vice Provost, Undergraduate Education

Helen Schurke Frasier, Director of Analysis and Policy, Graduate Studies

Jeff Gibeling, Dean, Graduate Studies

Sharon Knox, Senior Writer, Undergraduate Education

Gail Martinez, Assistant Vice Provost, Undergraduate Education

Helen Paik, Analyst, Administrative and Resource Management

Patricia Turner,* Vice Provost, Undergraduate Education

*These members served during Fall 2012 only.

Student Representation

Bradley Bottoms, Senator, Associated Students University of California Davis